Cross the road to go through the cobbled alleyway to the main
entrance to the church. Continue up the path.
Wheelchair users and buggies can avoid the cobbles by passing the alleyway and turning left around the corner to Church Street entering and leaving by the main entrance to the church.
Nikolaus Pevsner in his “Buildings of England”, described St Mary’s church as, “The proud church of a prosperous clothier’s town.”The spire of the 12th century church collapsed in 1638.
The replacement tower rises from the north transept. It is unique for its position and for its perpendicular gothic survival architecture. Church House, the colour-washed building by the post box, was, until 1829, the Guildhall where the town corporation met.